Congressman Thomas J. Rooney

Representing the 17th District of Florida

FEMA Approves All Counties in District 17 for Individual Assistance

Sep 13, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the Federal Emergency Management Agency amended its Major Disaster Declaration for Florida to now include all nine counties in Florida’s 17th Congressional District – Charlotte, Desoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands, Lee, Okeechobee, Sarasota and Polk – as part of its Individual Assistance-designations. The IA designation will enable Rooney’s constituents to apply for financial assistance to help cover the costs of temporary housing and lodging, disaster-caused home repairs and construction, as well as a number of other immediate needs caused by Hurricane Irma.

“Since Hurricane Irma hit my district, I have been in constant contact with officials at every level of government to ensure that these FEMA Individual Assistance requests were granted,” Rooney said. “I am incredibly impressed by the hard work of state and local officials, who worked quickly to submit damage assessments on behalf of their communities amidst ongoing search and recovery efforts and despite the enormous logistical challenges posed by power and gas outages. I am equally as encouraged to see that FEMA approved these requests the same day they were submitted so that we may all begin to rebuild our communities.”  

For information on how you can apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance disaster relief programs, please visit FEMA’s comprehensive IA information page or the hurricane information center on my website. FEMA also offers support for individuals with disabilities, access or functional needs